The International Film Festival of India (IFFI) reckoned as one of Asia’s oldest and India’s biggest film festival. Since its inception in 1952, IFFI has aimed to nurture and inspire Indian cinema and introduce it to the world outside as well as the many audiences that coexist in this vast and diverse country.

The glorious state of Goa has hosted this esteemed festival since 2004, through the Entertainment Society of Goa (ESG), the nodal agency appointed by the Government.
Although the festival organized by the Directorate of Film Festivals, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting and the Government of India, it is done in collaboration with the State Government of Goa and the Indian Film Industry. IFFI also recognized by the International Federation of Film Producer’s Association (FIAPP).

IFFI helps in contributing to the understanding and appreciation of film cultures of different nations through the diversity displayed within its film selection. As each year IFFI brings with it the latest critically acclaimed films, brilliant masterclasses and workshops by renowned personalities, and visits from several celebrities in the film industry, both national and international.

Golden Jubilee Edition of IFFI culminates in Goa.

The 50th edition of the International Film Festival of India in Goa was a momentous occasion from the point of view of film festivals of India. The event saw an overwhelming participation of students from different institutes of film making, people from film fraternity and those from other walks of life. Apart from movies, the nine-day long festival had different sessions like master classes, in conversation sessions, press conferences by renowned personalities from the world of cinema. Felicitation of stalwarts from the film fraternity was done on the occasion which included musical maestro Ilayaraja, veteran actor Prem Chopra, Manju Bora, Arvind Swamy and Pandit Birju Maharaj.

 The panel of jury was also felicitated on the occasion. Talking about the awards, the best film award was bagged by ‘Particles’ directed by Blaisse Harrison, the best director award went to Lijo Jose Pellissery for his film “Jallikattu”, Best actor’s award to Seu Jorge for the film Marighella, best actress to Usha Jadhav for Marathi film “Mai Ghat”, Special jury award was given away to Pema Tseden’s “Balloon”, Abhishek Shah’s National award winning film “Hellaroo” won the special mention award, whereas, the best debut film was bagged by “Monsters” and “Abou Leila.

The ICFT’s UNESCO Gandhi medal award was given to “Rwanda” directed by Riccardo Salvetti. The ICFT’s UNESCO special mention award was given away to Bahattar Hoorain a film directed by Sanjay Pooran. Even as this year’s IFFI brought some amazing and classic films, but a sense of curiosity has also been created as next year’s IFFI will be focused around the legend of Indian cinema Satyajit Ray. The year 2020-21 is the centenary year of Ray and some of his classic works will surely come as treat to the hundreds and thousands of cine enthusiasts.


Write A Comment